Skip to content

A victim of crime

August 3, 2017

-written by Life in Finland (blog)

I have become a statistic.

I was robbed in broad daylight in my own neighbourhood while I was walking my dog yesterday.

Pick pocketing by foreign gangs (apparently largely Romanian and Bulgarian) is not new in Finland. They are regulars on the streets of Helsinki in the summer. Just last week the Finnish Police issued a public statement saying that pick pocketers were on the move in Helsinki.

So, let it be told: criminal thugs are now targeting people in the suburbs in the Helsinki region.

Yes, I made myself target. I fully acknowledge that. So I don’t need any advice or harsh mean words to tell me what an idiot I was.

Hindsight is 20/20.

Just after 16.00 I was walking my dog when some people in a car stopped and asked for directions. Being the helpful person I am, I went over to help. But the car that stopped was one I had seen just a few minutes previously turning at a set of lights where I was waiting to cross.

The man in front passenger seat took a long look at me, I remember this…

This is how highly I think of my dog: He is so unusual looking that I would never leave him tied up outside a store or anywhere alone for that matter (not even my yard). When they lured me over to their car, I was thinking of my dog – not the gold chain around my neck…

They wanted to know how to get to Turku. They identified themselves as Turkish. They were not Turkish.

In an exchange that lasted probably no more than a minute, while I was giving them directions, the two (likely Romanian/Bulgarian) women who were sitting in the back seat of the car got out and gave thanks by shoving worthless jewellery into my hands.

It was a slight tussle, they didn’t hurt me at all. I don’t even remember what my dog did – but he didn’t figure in to anything obviously. But in those few seconds one of those women stole the gold chain from around my neck. Yes, really.

Then the car sped off. I didn’t get the make or model, but it had Swedish plates and it was a grey/silver older looking car that I would describe as a Volvo.

I checked the time. I looked at the worthless junk in my hands and called 112. The fellow on the other end was helpful and told me I should contact the Espoo police the next day (office hours were already ending).

I continued my walk. About five minutes later I reached up and realized my gold chain was gone.

I called 112 again and told them about the previous call, what had just transpired and then started to cry. The fellow on the other end was again helpful and dispatched a patrol car to meet me at the local fire station, since I was closer to that than I was to home.

I called the Mr. and told him what happened. He was flabbergasted. Because our kid was also at home I told him not to react or tell her what had happened. He left the house and came to meet me at the fire station.

The officers arrived and I told them what happened. They were very helpful, took my statement and told me it wasn’t my fault. I followed up with one of them to send along some pictures of the chain that was stolen from around my neck. I know it’s gone and I won’t ever see it again. That’s fine.

That it is gone is in fact partly my fault.

My fault for not wearing a shirt where it normally would been tucked under the neckline.

My fault for being naive and too trusting. (Honest, I thought they were targeting my dog.)

I’ve made it through more than four decades of life and now get to wear the title, “Victim of Crime.”

Am I afraid? No. I am pretty pissed off though.

It won’t happen again and I will continue to walk around like “I own the place.”

I’ll be ok.

Thank you to the two officers, Mikko and Janne who took my statement. They were kind and understanding.

 

p.s. The gold chain was a gift from the Mr. and quite valuable.

p.s.s. I have not told my child about this. I don’t want her to fear people. The people who robbed me yesterday targeted me for my jewellery. I suspect these thugs are not going after little kids to terrorize them…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2017 10:01 am

    I am so sorry to hear about this, what a really horrid thing to happen to you. I hope nothing like that ever happens to you again. xx

    • August 3, 2017 10:41 am

      Thanks Kate, I hope nothing like this never happens again either!

  2. Kirsi permalink
    August 3, 2017 11:55 am

    I would have told to my kids though. At least I would warn them. So that they would not have eyes as blue as me :). I’m sure that if your kid would have something valuable they would go after her/him too.

  3. Urmas permalink
    August 7, 2017 1:10 pm

    Aww crap. They are still at large, apparently (same m.o.):

    https://yle.fi/uutiset/3-9761758

    • August 9, 2017 10:28 am

      Yes, I saw that – and in Hesari too… Grrr, makes me so angry!

  4. Annie permalink
    August 14, 2017 2:38 pm

    I’m sorry and disappointed that this happened to you….BUT I don’t agree that this was in any way your fault!

Leave a Reply

