Skip to content

Propaganda in the mailbox (?)

June 1, 2017

Back in May during the weekend of Vappu, we got these in the mailbox.

The Mr. brought them into the house and my incredulous reaction was more like a, “Wow, WTF are these?!

These two books were written by Harun Yahya (also known as Adnan Oktar), an Islamic scholar and he calls Darwin’s theory of evolution “deceit”, among his other arguments. I won’t attempt to articulate any of his other thoughts or try to summarize his arguments, because this article from the New York Times does a very good job. It’s all very fascinating actually.

I actually thumbed through the first few pages of one of the books and then thought, I will open my mind and actually read these. (When I have time, which is in short supply these days, but that is another story.)

A friend of mine was stopped by some Mormons last week and they offered him a book. He too decided it was time open his mind and he pledged to read it. I applaud him for that. The point is, reading these books will probably not change my world view, but it will offer a perspective different from my own. My book shelf is a mishmash of books that cover different world views and perspectives and I do want to devote my attention to them at some point… Anyways…

I was wondering if we were the only ones who had received these books, and then I saw a few in our garbage bin and one thrown on the street when I was walking the dog. So, I guess not.

A few days after the surprise in our mailbox I mentioned it to a friend of ours and he later sent me a link to a news story from YLE. Indeed we were not the only people who had received these books and police were baffled. As far as I know, no one has claimed responsibility for their distribution. See the news (in Finnish) here.

Has anyone else received these books?

Any thoughts on this? I’d love to hear from you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

