Skip to content

Picture of the day

February 14, 2016

The weather has been going through a continuous freeze-thaw cycle for a few weeks (and my emotions – a roller coaster of happy and sad to go along with it). Every time it rains, I am annoyed. This is winter in Finland, which means it should be snowing and cold. Unfortunately for the last two winters in southern Finland that has not been the case. The winters of 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 were absolutely CRUMMY, with little or no snow and temperatures that hovered around 0C. So I can say that those two winters, were wet, dreary and brown… Hateful really.

This winter has been a mixed bag since the end of December. It has been variably cold in southern Finland with snow, but we’ve had a couple of thaws already and last week we pretty much lost all of the snow in Espoo. <sad face> Fortunately it snowed again right after that, so the earth (at the moment) is white – just the way I like it, because it’s winter and in my world, winter means  and will always mean SNOW.

I take a lot of pictures with my phone, so I thought I snapped a pretty good one last night while I was walking my dog.

Where ever you are, hope the weather is good! 🙂

WP_20160213_041[1]

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2016 7:56 am

    A pretty picture! And there are plenty of us sharing your sentiments about the “winter”…

Leave a Reply

