Skip to content

Women’s things

April 1, 2015

I realize it is April 1, but this is not a joke.

This is a post of a more personal nature, aimed at women. So guys – if you’re not into women’s health, this post is probably not for you.

A couple of months ago I went for my annual “exam” to get checked out. My employer is pretty generous and this is something that is covered for all the women who work where I am. The doctor I saw was a new one because the one I usually see was not available.

As we went through the exam, the usual questions came, how regular is your cycle, etc. etc. Fortunately I am pretty healthy so there was nothing to be concerned about. As per the standard here tests are done and if there is a problem, the doctor will follow up.

So, that being said, I am in the over 40 group and a new word entered my vocabulary. It was so omninous to hear it:

Mammogram.

Jeez, I thought, am I already old enough for one of those??? Well, I’ll go get one, though I haven’t quite got my head around the thought of having a part of my body squashed in a vice.

One thing besides this mammogram stuff that stuck with me was how much the doctor was trying to push contraception pills on me as a way to regulate my cycle. I think I had to tell her four times that I was not interested in using drugs to regulate my body. I told her more than once that I manage just fine, thanks. Never in my life have I ever been at a doctor’s appointment where there was such a clear push to get me to use drugs. I wondered about her motives (or the drug companies’ motives) in applying so much pressure.

We are all getting older and that requires a slight shift in the focus on health and well-being… Have you ever had a doctor try and push any treatment on you?

Comments, as always are welcome!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2015 10:51 am

    That is quite interesting that the doctor was trying to push something on you so much in Finland. Most times, I have found myself begging (strongly requesting) for something to be done or a prescription to be written.

    • April 1, 2015 11:57 am

      I was just so taken aback that she kept insisting I needed these drugs.

  2. Sonia permalink
    April 4, 2015 10:44 am

    Push pills over 40?! The selection is smaller due to risks, but still an option. Not the best though. I rather found that many methods are hardly known in Finland or arrived 15 yrs later compared to mid Europe.

    mammogramm starts in regular public state system from 50 onwards, but ours provide it if you have a reason for it (breast cancer in the family, other worries). It’s nasty, but not bad.

    I warmly recommend Tom Blomqvist in Iso Omena. He is best. Was blind choice from the very beginning. I would never go to a woman that is why I never use the municipal checks (done in a container in my town… urgh). They are so impersonal and this is a matter of trust.

  3. Terri-Lynn Young permalink
    April 14, 2015 12:57 pm

    Great post Carmen!

    Not only have I had drugs pushed on me, my career is now at a standstill because of it. I went to see my Doc about chronic overall pain. She had no idea of the cause BUT, because I had once suffered post pardom depression, she wanted to try me on an anti depressant. Because pain can sometime be a side affect of it. (Turns out I have Fibromyalgia) It didn’t work, I came off but was put back on something about a year later when I was stressed out on one of my courses. Now, because of these three separate instances of being on medication for depression (only once did I accept somewhat freely) I am in limbo waiting for the medical Gawds to decide my fate as a Canadian Militant.

    On your comments on mammogram, I’ve opted not to have one. According to my dr. Yes, early detection is key BUT studies have shown that since the use of mammograms, the breast cancer situation has not improve because of it. This tells me that much of our early detection has been manual. Much to my husbands pleasure. 😉

    Ciao Bella!

    Terri

Leave a Reply

