Skip to content

Souvenirs from Finland

December 5, 2014
tags:

Do you ever buy souvenirs when you travel? When I came here in 1997 I never thought I would be coming back, so I bought some nice things home with me. When I moved back, I brought them back with me. 🙂 I still buy Finnish stuff and handicrafts and it still feels like buying a souvenir.

I am one of these shoppers that looks for Christmas presents all year round, so I am always happy to score a good buy when I find something suitable to give as a gift. When I buy handicrafts or locally made goods they’re usually for someone in Canada – and I let people know that. The creator of said piece is always pleased to hear that their stuff is headed to the other side of the pond.

Anyways, so what do I have in my collection of Finnish-made stuff? Here’s a smattering, I have more of course…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have you ever bought or been given a souvenir from Finland that you treasure? Tell me about it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2014 9:10 am

    Love the candle behind the aarikka elf in the picture 🙂

  2. Sonia permalink
    December 6, 2014 2:30 pm

    As mentioned earlier, my home is an Iittala outlet, but it’s getting less since newer items are not my taste and I make my glass items myself nowadays, which are unique – each of them. I am also under heavy uncluttering of our house in the recent time, so what may stay need to be really a favorite!

    My all time favorites:

    3. A huge cuddly moose I bought in the airport once when again leaving Finland again during the distance relationship with my (now) husband.

    2. The Aarikka cat series which is not produced anymore. I find Aarikka far too overpriced, but whenever the cat-form wooden jewelry is on huuto.net, I buy them in any kind of format, also fro presents if in good condition.

    1. A bubbly glass moose tealight from Jussis Keramik Marienhamn, earlier available in Stockmann. Very massive, very beautiful.

  3. December 9, 2014 9:35 am

    I know it’s a cliche but I love our Alvar Aalto vase and think every home should have one – although I went to a Finnish home the other day and noticed they had three! ; )

    • December 15, 2014 11:11 am

      I actually don’t have an Alvar Aalto vase, nor do I have any Toikka birds!

  4. Sonia permalink
    December 12, 2014 9:56 am

    Mel, Aalto shape junkie, here here:
    – big vase
    – small vase
    – mid sized bowle
    – two mini bowls
    – four tea lights
    – cookie cut-out shape
    – ice cube maker

    I think the vase’s ergonomy is lousy, but it just looks good 🙂

    That is when you forget usability.

Leave a Reply

