Skip to content

Keep that bottle opener handy!

February 28, 2014

It’s Friday and thousands of people across Finland will crack open a couple of beer tonight to wind down after a busy week at work.

I thought about it a few weeks ago and realized that, hey – here’s something else that is different than where I come from:

You have to use a bottle opener to open a bottle of beer.

WP_005738

Twist tops are not found on bottled beer produced in Finland (or in nearby Estonia, where we also get beer from). I suppose you can buy imported beer with twist tops, but I haven’t really paid attention.

You can also buy pop (= soda, limsa, lemonade) and carbonated water in glass bottles with caps. So, don’t throw away your bottle opener, you’ll need it!

I remember going home to Canada to visit way back in 2000 – nearly two years since the last time I had been home, and my uncle handed me a beer. My automatic reaction back then was to start rummaging through the drawers in the kitchen to look for a bottle opener, and I did!… He promptly took the bottle from me and twisted the cap off… Doh!

How quickly we can forget! Ha ha!

Cheers! Have a great weekend folks! πŸ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sonia permalink
    March 1, 2014 6:07 pm

    Twist tops on _beer_ bottles? Now tell me, the bottles should be plastic and I tell you “It’s blasphemy”. πŸ˜‰ Sadly, canned beer is most common in Finland. This is blasphemy too πŸ˜‰ Really stylish are clip-locks, but they are hardly available in Finland.

    In addition, you don’t always have to open a beer with an opener. There are thousand of ways to do it. πŸ™‚

    • March 3, 2014 7:57 am

      Beer in plastic bottles is definitely blasphemy! But most bottled beer in Canada is twist-top… And cans, yeah – they’re cheaper, but I definitely prefer beer in a bottle… I am not really one of those people who resort to other methods of opening bottles… Definitely not with my teeth anyways!

  2. March 3, 2014 4:18 am

    I think they all ought to require the use of an opener. It just seems like the right thing to do.

    I recently started brewing my own. I boiled my first batch last weekend and it’s in the fermenter right now. Should be ready in about 5 weeks. I can’t wait.

    • March 3, 2014 7:58 am

      Leo, I’d love to make my own beer – I just haven’t been brave enough yet! πŸ˜€

      • March 3, 2014 8:00 am

        I was scared at first too. So much so that I bought the equipment and it took nearly a year to dig in and get started. But it really is just as easy as boiling water.

Leave a Reply

