Skip to content

Picture of the day

June 17, 2013

I was browsing through my bookshelves yesterday and came across this, my first Finnish-English-Finnish dictionary. It has been well-loved and used, and it’s falling apart.

dictionary

I bought it at the World’s Biggest Bookstore in Toronto way back in 1996 not long after I decided I was going to Finland after I had graduated from university.

Do you have a well-love Finnish-<insert language>-Finnish dictionary?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. anonymous permalink
    June 18, 2013 12:05 pm

    The use of Finnish state flag with wrong proportions and muted colours makes the dictionary seem commie chic.

    • June 18, 2013 1:15 pm

      Well, the dictionary was published in the US, blame the publisher for getting it wrong I suppose.

      • anonymous permalink
        June 19, 2013 9:10 pm

        When was it published?

      • June 20, 2013 10:03 am

        It was published in 1990 (Hippocrene Books, NY), fourth printing in 1995.

      • anonymous permalink
        June 20, 2013 11:32 am

        In the ’90s? Well, that’s just sad.

  2. OBK permalink
    November 24, 2013 5:31 am

    Sadly, just learned that the World’s Biggest Bookstore is soon to be closed:

    http://www.blogto.com/deadpool/2013/11/worlds_biggest_bookstore_headed_to_the_deadpool/

    When we were kids, my dad used to bring us there on every single trip to Toronto!

    • November 25, 2013 8:05 am

      Aww – really?? I had the same experience as you OBK – my mom always made a stop there when we went to Toronto! I loved that place.

Leave a Reply

