Skip to content

The new HS

January 9, 2013

Improved?

Hard to say at this point whether Helsingin Sanomat‘s new tabloid size will be a hit among its readers. I measured them up yesterday and I have to say – the tabloid size looks so tiny compared to the broadsheet. Here’s a comparison: I laid out the new format HS on top of the last printed broadsheet from January 6. I have to apologize for the picture quality, but I think you’ll get the point.

WP_000826

 

I do have to give HS a hats off, however, for producing a “How does this work?” insert that accompanied the January 8 paper. In it you find out how the paper is published, when things will be published and how big it will be. So the traditional Sunday mega-paper will still exist with five sections. So it just may fit in the mailbox. The other thing HS did was present all of the people involved in bringing you HS, nice to put some names to faces. HS has also opens the channels for feedback – and there are many: e-mail (uusi.hs@hs.fi), postcard/letter (Helsingin Sanomat, PL 77, 00089 Sanoma with the subject “lehtiuudistus”) and through their various social media channels (i.e Facebook, Twitter, etc.)

I didn’t like the weather page – the oversimplified graphic of the country makes it look like a rush job. So I will be giving feedback about that.

What do you think of the new-look HS? Like it? Hate it? Wishing for your big paper?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin Swift permalink
    January 9, 2013 1:04 pm

    As I rarely read the print version of the paper (and after about 1 section of difficult finnish reading my brain is fried), I’m not sure that I have a right to comment. BUT, from the perspective of someone who commutes daily on the train, I am THRILLED about this new smaller newspaper format. During peak times the train is routinely 10-15 minutes and jam-packed with grumpy commuters. I have noted that in each car there are approximately 10 people reading their full-sized newspaper spread out on everyone else’s lap. Talk about disrespectful of (limited) public space! It makes me so angry I have not only grunted at them but have actually commented that perhaps they can save their news for a more appropriate environment. There is simply no space for people to spread their morning paper all over the place.

    • January 10, 2013 10:00 am

      Ha! I used to take the train a lot… I can say I do not miss those days!

  2. Erin Swift permalink
    January 17, 2013 6:37 pm

    i meant 10-15 minutes late!

  3. January 22, 2013 5:39 pm

    I love Broadsheet and think it’s sad that hesari change To the Tony tabloid format Broadsheet is far superior! And what Will the flower stores use now To wrap flowers? Broadsheet hesari is made for wrapping flowers!

Leave a Reply

