Skip to content

Picture (curiosity) of the day

November 9, 2012

Yesterday I was running around after work and had to squeeze in a couple of trips to different stores. I was carrying a lot of stuff and so I hopped on the airport bus the goes by my house to make things easier.

Imagine my surprise when I saw this…

It’s a vending machine… on a bus!

Just when I thought I had seen everything…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marilyn Debreuil permalink
    November 11, 2012 11:44 pm

    Hi,
    Our family likes to have different Christmas’ each year. This year we would like to do some Finnish traditions. We start in the morning with hopefully a traditional breakfast and continue through the day with some traditional food / music / and traditions. In looking it appears to be more traditional for Christmas Eve. I wonder if you can share with me any information you might have surrounding traditions / menus / recipes. We live in Stonewall Manitoba, just north of Winnipeg so often it is easy to get culteral items.
    Thanks. Marilyn

    • November 15, 2012 8:56 am

      Hello Marilyn… Well let’s see if this helps you. On Christmas Eve morning we eat rice porridge. It requires a special kind of rice, so you have to punch it into a search engine. Be sure to put an almond in, yes just one. Whoever finds the almond can make a wish and hope for good things in the future.

      The food of choice at Christmas is ham, “graavilohi” (salted raw salmon), mashed potatoes, carrot casserole, turnip casserole and gravy.

      This lady has a good list in her blog: http://maijaliisa.blogspot.fi/2006/12/finnish-christmas-dinner-menu.html. I hope this helps!

      Enjoy your meal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

