Skip to content

The BBQ is a year round thing?

October 4, 2012

Yes, of course!

The barbeque culture has started to catch on here in Finland and the Mr. has become, shall I say, quite an expert on barbequed fish and moose meat.

He has also adopted the stereotypical habit of barbequing year round like they do in Canada. Okay…Truth be told I don’t know if people actually do barbeque year round back home, but I know that the weather doesn’t stop the Mr. from rustling up some supper for us. In winter you’ll find him bundled up in a jacket and toque, beer in hand huddled up next to the BBQ. Chicken is a definitely a challenge in the winter, but otherwise he gets the job done on other kinds of meat.

One New Year’s Eve a few years back he bundled up to brave the -20C weather, put the headlamp on his head and BBQ’d reindeer meat for supper.

It’s amusing, however, to see the shock on people’s faces here when we say that, “Heck, yes – we barbeque year round.”

BBQ adventures to share anyone?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin Swift permalink
    October 4, 2012 7:30 pm

    Heck yeah eh!? I come from a long line of winter bbq-ers (and let me tell you, in Regina it gets to -45C and we STILL bbq on the deck!). Pekka and I are continuing the tradition now in Finland. What could taste better after sauna on a wintery night than grilled makkarat?!

  2. Juho permalink
    October 14, 2012 5:09 pm

    Visitors´ book substituent?
    Hello hello! I stumbled on the “mushroom episode” and i had to make a comment. I love this site! Like most Finns i also take some worry about the well-being and enjoying of our immigrants. I get an impression that its been ok here.. Okie im of to bbq some vegetables..

    • October 15, 2012 12:11 pm

      Thank you Juho! 🙂

      I love living here. I do admit that I have my “Grrr, I really hate Finland” days – but those are really far and few between. Living in Finland is what you make of it – and for me that is learning. There is so much to learn here, it will keep me going for the rest of my days!

      The language is still a bit of a struggle though…

Leave a Reply

