Skip to content

Ewww!

June 18, 2012

Yesterday I went out for a walk in the rain and ended up on the kuntorata in Kauklahti, where I saw three of these slugs.

Unidentified slug species – do you know what this is?

They’re ugly, and they’re big! 10 cm – 4 inches!

Blech!

I have set the process in motion to find out if they’re an invasive species and what I should do if I see more of them.

I wouldn’t want to find any of these in my garden (but I suspect I have slugs already because I saw some slime in a flower pot this morning… :-/)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2012 7:37 am

    I contacted the Finnish Environment Institute and they told me it is:
    1) ukkoetana (Limax cinereoniger) = Ash-grey slug or Black keel-back slug, or the alien
    2) jättietana (Limax maximus) = Leopard slug

    Apparently not harmful if it is an alien species. I was told they would have to see underneath it to determine what it is for sure.

  2. June 22, 2012 3:49 am

    We have something that looks like that in Vancouver, it’s called a Banana slug. And is equally as gross!!

Leave a Reply

