Skip to content

No sweat in Finland

March 21, 2012

In the past I have lamented about the poor selection of salad dressing in the stores in Finland, I make my own instead. Now I have to lament about something stinky – under arm deodorant.

Finns (or rather the stores that sell this stuff) have an aversion to sweat – or at least it would seem that way when you browse the store shelves for some good old pit stick.

95% of the stuff on the shelves is anti-perspirant. Eh? Trying to find a deo stick like this is darn near impossible. And I found this at Hong Kong (for those who don’t know, Hong Kong is a chain of discount stores)!

Update (2012.04.17 – for some reason the photo that was here has been deleted from my blog!!!)

Since when is sweating unnatural? I don’t want to use stuff that stops me from sweating!

Anti-perspirant has to be among the worst stuff out there that we apply to our bodies (okay – there are plenty of chemically-laced “beauty” products that should never touch the human skin, but…) and why are we disrupting something that is natural? And why are the cosmetic companies trying to tell us that sweating is bad and unhygienic?

  

I’ve been in Finland for almost 14 years and I bought women’s deo – once… It was so freaking awful that I decided I will stick my former tactic. And not only that, the deos are so tiny that if you sweat a lot you’ll go through one in no time!

I will ask my family members to stock me up on decent MEN’s deo from Canada – at least it smells okay and lets me sweat as nature intended me to…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. anon permalink
    March 26, 2012 9:07 pm

    How about this one..?

    • March 28, 2012 10:46 am

      Uhh – maybe not! 😛 The one deo I did buy was a Nivea one and it was downright horrid… Nope, I’ll continue to turn my nose up (pardon the pun) at the deo selection in the stores until they start bringing the good stuff here.

  2. Haisuli permalink
    August 5, 2012 1:06 pm

    Hello
    I was a teenager when I used some deodorant, i.e. in the 70’s, since then very seldom due to allergies. I think – do not know for sure – if people know the difference between anti-perspirant and deodorant. There are actually no Finnish equivalents to these terms. “Deodorantti” that is uset in ads, would be hajunpoistaja – does not sound good. “Antiperspirantti” would be hikoilun estäjä – hmm, sound quite bad. For some reason anti-perspirants have won the marketing battle.

    Thank you for your blog!

Leave a Reply

