Skip to content

Coffee is life

November 22, 2011

I swear lots of Finns are attached to coffee makers by IV drip. It is said that Finns drink more coffee per capita than any other country in the world. Coffee is taken seriously here.

There is nothing that brings Finns to the stores in droves than a sale on coffee. Coffee prices have increased a lot in the last year or two. One used to be able to buy a half kilo package of (for example) Paulig’s Juhla Mokka (pictured) for about EUR 2. Now it can retail as much as EUR 4,69 a package in some stores! So when the stores advertise a sale on coffee, the two-package limit is often a part of everyone’s purchases when they visit the store. The price increase is indeed painful – especially now that I am a coffee drinker like millions of my Finnish compatriates.

I draw the line at about two cups a day, unlike some who consume up to ten cups a day!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin Swift permalink
    November 22, 2011 3:14 pm

    interesting about coffee prices… i didn’t realize it was ever so much cheaper! the typical Finnish light roast upsets my stomach (as I have heard from many foreigners who aren’t used to it). I would recommend giving Paulig’s new ‘Tumma Presidentti’ a try – it’s delicious!

  2. Risto Lankinen permalink
    November 22, 2011 10:38 pm

    I’m a Finn and a coffee drinker. However, I’ve spent several years of my life abroad – California to be particular – and learned to like the darker roast you get in places like Starbucks or Peet’s. The problem: Finnish coffee is as far from dark/French roast as can be. After growing into the smooth taste of what they brew in California coffee shops, the Finnish coffee tastes incredibly bitter. Thru necessity I’ve learnt to tolerate the workplace coffee machine brews, but at home I drink what I’ve brought from trips to California or Central Europe. Currently I’m almost finished with a 10 pound bag of Kirkland whole bean french roast that I got a couple of years back from Costco. Yes, it’s some ten months past use-before-date and yet, it still tastes better than Presidentti or Kulta Mokka… πŸ™‚

  3. November 25, 2011 9:04 am

    Hi. Popping by from Expat Blogger. Always nice to find other expats from N. America living here… in Finland. Your blog is very nice.
    The coffee situation has been a rough road for me! I drink Presidentti with lots of skim milk, it’s taken me a long time for my tummy to get used to even with the milk.
    Always watching for a sale though!

    • December 22, 2011 9:29 am

      Thanks for surfing in Tracie! I never drank coffee until I moved to Finland! πŸ™‚ And I am glad there have been lots of sales lately – just in time for Christmas.

  4. justiina permalink
    November 26, 2011 10:40 am

    I haven’t been paying attention to the price of coffee but now that you mentioned it I looked at the price tag before buying and it was 4,45e -> I bought just one and decided to keep my eyes open for a sale and then fill my cupboards πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

