Skip to content

Learn one new mushroom species a year

October 2, 2011

That is the motto of outdoor experts on mushrooms.

Until this year, I only knew of two species of mushroom – the chanterelle (kantarelli) and the fly agaric (punakärpässieni) – and I only learned those after I had moved to Finland. Where I come from in Northern Ontario, I never, ever knew anyone who knew anything about edible mushrooms. The only mushrooms I knew about came from the store, in a can or in a package.

Fast forward to now. You’ve seen in past entries that I have found out a lot about plants this year. Mushrooms are a whole new ball game for me.

Today I went on a mushroom course organized by Espoon Latu (the outdoor club that I am a member of). The Mr. suggested it. The course was in Finnish, but I thought I would give it a try – and it went well. Most of the people who went (and there were about 30 of us altogether) had picked mushrooms before, so this was also a good opportunity to socialize. We were led by a biologist, Veikko, who we could bring all of our mushrooms to and ask questions. The organizer Pekka K. was really helpful and so were all of the other people I spoke with.

So – the mushroom that is in season now is the Craterellus tubaeformis, otherwise known as the Yellowfoot, Winter mushroom or Funnel Chanterelle.

Once I knew how to identify it and Pekka and Veikko had told us where to find it, I went to town. I actually wasn’t planning to pick a lot of mushrooms, but I ended up with this. Not bad for a greenhorn! 🙂

Preparing them is very easy and most people fry them up with butter and salt and use them in sauces. If you’re not planning to eat them right away, the best thing to do is fry them and then freeze them. Don’t add any butter or salt! So – that’s what I did.

The idea is to wait for all of the liquid to dissipate. Then they’re ready.

I froze this bunch. The Mr. is currently moose hunting and asked me to save them so we could try them all together. Getting the Little Miss to try them should be interesting. 🙂

So – now that I know what I am looking for, I can now eliminate store bought mushrooms off my list for the time being.

Next year I will learn more!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Justiina permalink
    October 2, 2011 10:28 pm

    Hey! Just wanted to let you know that I’m following this blog… 🙂

    • October 2, 2011 10:32 pm

      Alright! Thanks for hopping on! I also created a page for it on Facebook… 🙂

  2. anonymous permalink
    October 4, 2011 1:59 pm

    Learn all poisonous mushrooms.
    Only pick mushrooms you know.

    (This nugget of wisdom is apparently found in an old mushroom guide.)

  3. October 6, 2011 3:35 pm

    nice post about the world of mushrooms!

Leave a Reply

