Skip to content

Picture of the day

September 26, 2011

My 4 year-old discovered this MASSIVE parasol mushroom on the embankment beside our yard on the weekend. This is my hand in the picture… The great thing is that parasol mushrooms are edible! I also found out that is called ukonsieni in Finnish. We have had a few others around the yard, so I know that we can share them with other people if they’re brave enough to try. 🙂

This coming weekend I will be taking part in a mushrooming course in Nuuksio National Park, put on by the outdoor club that I belong to. So I hope to learn something more!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 2:17 am

    Wow, thisi is really huge! How many people can it feed? 🙂

  2. October 2, 2011 6:51 pm

    Well Ekaterina, I haven’t been brave enough to try and eat these mushrooms this year. I am going to spend the winter learning more. *But* If I take the cap and cut it into four pieces, I am sure I could get a meal out of each quarter! I’ve counted about 8-10 of these in my yard.

Leave a Reply

