Skip to content

Trending now: The greenhouse

June 21, 2011

I am not sure if the Mr. and I have fallen into the trend trap or not, but we bought a greenhouse this year. Every gardening centre and hardware store in Finland has DIY greenhouses on offer. We moved to a bigger house with a bigger yard, so we took the opportunity to build upon our fruits of last summer. We successfully grew tomatoes and peas, but we also experimented with peppers and herbs. I also decided we should try and be a little more self-sufficient, just because we can.

So, we got a 4.8 sq m greenhouse from our local K-rauta and put it up in the yard. While the location we picked was “temporary”, we think that we will leave where it is. Everything seems to be doing well there. I’ve battled some ants, but they seem to be relatively harmless, so the heat has died down a little.

In a previous entry I mentioned that I had planted tomatoes, bell peppers, lettuce and so on. This week the tomatoes started flowering, so the fruits of my labour are beginning to appear. We have also planted beans and peas and plan to string them up outside the greenhouse. We’re also testing container gardening and grow bags to see how they work.

This is a picture from last week – and I have to say that everything has grown even more since then!

All I can say is wow, I am having a good time with this and learning tons along the way! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

