Skip to content

Milk!

February 1, 2011

Yesterday the Finnish Broadcasting Corporation (YLE) published a feature about milk and how the myth of lactose intolerance abounds in Finland. While about 17 percent of Finnish population is lactose intolerant, the fact that the product range available to lactose intolerant Finns is wide perpetuates the myth that the number is even higher….

Read more here, to me this was an interesting read!
http://www.yle.fi/uutiset/news/2011/01/a_study_in_milk_2329890.html

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 10:07 pm

    So now I know why the only people I have met who had a milk allergy lived or came from Finland!

  2. February 4, 2011 1:04 pm

    and it’s funny that none of my italian (60% of population with lactose intolerance) friends have ever mentioned it… they don’t live here though

  3. skeptigirl permalink
    March 24, 2011 1:56 pm

    I find the wide variety of lactose free products frustrating. I am not lactose intolerant yet I am driven to the brink of insanity finding cheese with lactose. Can’t they make a small separate section for those of us who wish to have the regular stuff?

    • March 25, 2011 3:12 pm

      Interesting skeptigirl, do you find there is a difference in taste or quality in products containing lactose? I am not lactose intolerant myself, so this is a worry that has never crossed my health radar before.

      • anon permalink
        February 6, 2012 5:58 pm

        I’m with skeptigirl on this.
        I’m under the impression that lactose intolerance is technically “natural” in adults whereas infants are naturally tolerant. So the tolerance apparently goes away. What if this trend drives the lactose intolerance rates up?
        Surely useless processing of food is never a good thing. We should hardly be moving towards more processed foods.

        I have also noticed cheese being of less consistent quality in recent years. Whether that is because of the removal of lactose, I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

