Skip to content

Price difference – reality check

November 15, 2010

I darn near fell on the floor when I saw this last week at a pharmacy in Leppävaara.

Why, you ask? Look at the price – EUR 19,00 – for 100m of dental floss! That’s about 25 BUCKS!

The same product at a store in my hometown retails for $5.29 (CAD), some EUR 4,00 or less… Needless to say I know what I want in my Christmas stocking, because sure as shootin’ I will not be paying that much for DIY dental care.

We do pay more in Finland, there is no doubt about that!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Midi permalink
    November 16, 2010 4:16 pm

    I guess there’s something wrong with the American dental care stuff – import fares or so? I recently saw the Listerine for €8 while all the other mouthwashes were between €2.50 and 4…

  2. November 22, 2010 11:46 am

    Not sure about that Midi – I like the J&J dental floss. It’s a lot better than some of the stuff you can buy in the stores here. But EUR 19.00 – wow… The mark up on stuff imported from the other side of the Atlantic is just incredible sometimes. It makes me look forward to those trips home now and then…

  3. Larysa permalink
    January 16, 2011 10:01 am

    Wow I just bought that same thing for $1.99 in the states. If you could get the dentist to give you two of them, a teeth cleaning would pay for itself lol.

Leave a Reply

