Skip to content

Finns overdressing

December 9, 2009
 
Coming from Canada I’ve learned to dress properly for the sometimes frigid conditions that pervade in the winter. It is plain stupid to leave your home without a hat. In Canada it is easy to prepare for the conditions, in Finland it is not. The weather in southern Finland can vary wildly and the forecast from the day before need not apply the following day. I’ve been surprised by the fast changes in the weather more than once!
 
After living here for such a long time, I still get a good laugh out of the Finns who over dress themselves and their kids – and good heavens – even I am guilty of over dressing my kid! I’m turning into a Finn…
 
The worst is when I see people wearing jackets when it is nearly 30C outside. I sweat just looking at them! This mostly happens in the spring time when the weather starts warming up. The mornings are really cool, but by the afternoon one can bask outside in shorts and a t-shirt. I prepare for this kind of weather by stuffing the lighter clothes in my pack before I traipse off to work. Choosing suitable clothing for biking to work is tricky because it means a lot of clothes in the morning and then carrying the load home in the afternoon.
 
In Espoo it is the wind that is the killer and makes the difference between freezing to death or being "just right," which is something I find myself striving for when I dress myself for the great out-of-doors.
 
As I look out the window, I see snow. My new winter boots are… You guessed it – at home.
 
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    December 23, 2009 8:50 pm

    Hey Carmen – what a peculiar looking weather vane contraption…. hope you all are well.Diana aka Piika

  2. Carmen permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:14 am

    Piika! 🙂 That is the anemometer which measures wind speed and direction… Currently with the weather we are having it is frozen in the SE direction!

Leave a Reply

