Skip to content

The application…

April 20, 2009
I told you about the "test" back on November 12 last year… The results are in!
 
In order to be able to apply for Finnish citizenship you have to have a level 3 certification according to the exam issued by the National Board of Education. In the five elements I scored all of the points I needed and even got a 4 in "Kirjoittaminen" – yeah!
 
Now for the application…
 
The application for Finnish citizenship can take various forms, so you have to consider your situation before getting started. See more at www.migri.fi. The thing that bugged me was that there was no final "check list" to tell me exactly what I needed to bring with me. Here’s a checklist for you in case you’re about to go through with the process.
  • The application
  • An original copy of your Finnish language test results
  • A letter from your employer with the date you started work and the amount of money you make every month (The human resources unit in your company should be able to provide this for you. To cover your butt, make sure it is signed by the head of your HR department.)
  • A photocopy of your current passport, plus all of the pages that have been stamped with entrances and exits to countries you have visited. Then get two witnesses to sign and confirm their signatures on one page of that photocopy.

Anything weird on the application? No not really, but my parents divorced when I was a child, so I had to ask both of them to dig deep to think about the dates I needed to include on the application. I was surprised I didn’t have to submit a picture of myself, or provide any proof of marriage or ID from the Mr. I did have a photocopy of his passport just in case, but the lady who took my application told me I had been in Finland for so long already that she didn’t need that.

The lady who took my application took the time to make sure it was in order and during the half hour I sat in front of her in silence she printed off scads of information, which left me wondering, just what to heck do the authorities have on me? <gulp> After I paid and she issued me a receipt, she told me that she didn’t fill in the expected waiting time because she couldn’t really tell me how long I would have to wait for a decision. The time could be anywhere from 10 months and onwards. She said there is nothing for me to do except wait, which implies that I shouldn’t call or contact them to find out what the status of my application is. She said if I receive a letter from the Immigration Service asking for clarification on anything, that I should respond immediately with the information they are looking for. (Lesson: make sure I have the information ready, I suspect they will send me a letter!)

I am just a plain old immigrant to Finland, so a trip to the police station and EUR 400 later and the wait begins. This could take up to two years and even then I am not guaranteed a privileged place in Finnish society.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. anonymous permalink
    March 28, 2011 5:49 pm

    Proof of marriage?
    Haven’t you already provided that previously?

    Oh, you have the right to request for all the information they have on you.
    Besides, you sort of know what they have on you. Tax records, your residence permit applications, information from VRK (marriage, etc.), …
    It’s just that if they put this all on paper, it’s going to be a lot of paper. Those forms are long. You should know.

    • March 30, 2011 1:12 pm

      Nope, not once have I had to provide proof of marriage for any application I have made in Finland… Frankly it was a bit weird in this case.

Leave a Reply

