Skip to content

You know you’ve lived in Finland for a long time (too long?) when

March 19, 2009

How do you measure your life in Finland…

  • You don’t visit the news media outlets of your home country on a daily basis anymore.
  • When people ask, "How is that done in your country?" you answer that you don’t know because you’ve been in Finland for such a long time. Your only benchmark is the experiences you have had in Finland.
  • Homesickness doesn’t hit with resounding frequency like it did in the beginning.
  • You finally can stop answering that all-telling question, "Why did you move here?" But then people are surprised to hear how long you have lived here.
  • You, for the most part, get by in your daily business in your adopted language. (There are still some things I can’t do because I don’t have the vocabulary, so English it is – for tax issues especially!)
  • You understand enough of the conversation (sometimes) that you laugh when everyone else does. But you still tune out sometimes – and that is okay.
  • You have finally established a "core" group of friends.
  • Finland is your home so you begin to defend most things Finnish. (But I am sorry, Team Canada will always be ahead of Team Finland in hockey!) Baring teeth
  • You know more about Finnish geography and general facts about Finland than your spouse. (HA – and I DO! The Mr. has acknowledged that I have seen more of Finland than he has. He finally went to the far north for the first time just a few years ago.)
  • You always dread November and December, but you’re so happy when you have made through another "dark" season.
  • You’re HAPPY here… and I know some people who are not very happy about living here.
  • You get brave enough to try and get Finnish citizenship and hope the authorities don’t stamp "REJECT" across your forehead. (More on that in a future entry – stay tuned!)
  • You’re happy when a Finn does well in sports – and don’t know of too many of the elite athletes in your home country. (See a previous entry Finns kicked some serious butt in 2006 -> http://carmenbk.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!6822918775CA7A47!489.entry)
  • You can keep up with your colleagues in the number of cups of coffee they drink daily – well almost.
  • You’re offered salmiakki and don’t hesitate to eat it. Smile
  • You understand Finnish sisu, because now you possess that sisu for having lived here so long…
Party
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Via permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:56 pm

    I only hope that one day I can be like that… you are my idol =P Nah seriously, that’s awesome… btw I’ve already got that sports one down and I hope I don’t get homesick because quite frankly, my mind is already in Finland my physical form just has to catch up =PThanks for the great read.

  2. Via permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:57 pm

    Oh… and if anyone asks… I’m moving to Finland to get away from Miley Cyrus. Hehe

  3. January 9, 2011 12:51 pm

    I know what you mean. I’ll be doing the same thing to get away from all this American shit.

    • January 12, 2011 8:16 am

      Thanks for bringing me back to this post Colin. After giving it another read, I can say that many of these things are still true…

Leave a Reply

