Skip to content

I went out on a limb and…

August 25, 2008
 
… I helped someone.
 
Yesterday I went out to the store after supper and on my way home encountered a drunk Finn – wait not a man, but a woman!…
 
Public drunkenness is a norm in this country and almost every foreigner who moves here expresses their discomfort with this fact of life. Yep, I’ve been here almost 10 years and I will never get used to the alcohol soaked culture in this country. Now that a new Lidl (a German-based store featuring cheap food and products) has opened near my house, I cringe when I see construction workers walk out of the store with beer in their hands – these people are renovating our buildings, building our schools, roads, bridges and houses… ARGH! Confused
 
Okay – back to my original story, the drunk woman… It was raining and cold, I was in Espoon Keskus and she was alone and obviously drunk. In fact she was legless – couldn’t even stand up! I thought to myself that she shouldn’t be there because if she got into trouble (i.e. someone robbing her or beating her up) she wouldn’t be able to defend herself. I didn’t have my phone with me to call a taxi for her. So – I got brave and took it upon myself to see if I could get her closer to her home. After some brief discussion it turned out she lived quite close to where I do. I got her about 200m closer to her home and then she decided she couldn’t continue. With a big bag of groceries in the other hand I had certainly gotten myself into a pickle. Then along came three ladies and after plea for help, they agreed to help me get her home. 10 minutes later and we got her in the door of her house and we continued our separate ways… They, too were non-Finns… I thanked them profusely for their help and want to acknowledge it here too. Faleminderit!
 
I mean how about that eh? Four foreigners help a Finn, when no one else would help her… I don’t want to think about what would have happened to her if I had just kept walking…
 
I did my good deed for the day… Star
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

