Skip to content

Some fun stuff

August 29, 2006
 
Where do I get my blog entry ideas from? Well I read a lot and check out the news, but I don’t surf a whole lot. I might get an idea in passing from a newspaper article or a billboard that I see from the bus or whatever… In any case, I have learned that if I get a good idea, I should write it down. I always carry a notebook around with me and I keep a text file on my computer of ideas that are ready to go. It helps a lot!
 
This time around I have a whole lot of interesting links to share with you. Right now I don’t have any extensive stories to go along with them, just some thoughts I have jotted down. Read on and enjoy:
 
  • A friend of mine is in on a business that sells reindeer meat to consumers. Right now they are looking for new markets outside of Finland – namely Finnish expatriates that would love to savour the taste of reindeer meat. Check them out at: http://www.deliporo.fi/, the site is only in Finnish at the moment.
  • Awhile back MTV3 had a news piece about KA Weiste Oy in Pukinmäki, a suburb of Helsinki. At Weiste Oy it is Christmas year round! If you love Christmas, then check them out at http://www.weiste.com/ And by the way, it’s only 117 days until Christmas!…
  • I like animals – and I am happy to report that there is an "old age home" for farm (and other) animals here in Finland. It is called Eläinten vanhainkoti (Animal Old Age Home is the straight translation) and you can find them on the net at http://www.wanhamarkki.fi/vanhainkoti.htm. Helsingin Sanomat International wrote an article about the farm located near Ylistaro http://www.hs.fi/english/article/Wanha+Markki+is+retirement+home+for+animals/1101978697730
  • Who else is blogging about Finland? Well I can tell you that an American guy named Phil is getting a lot of traffic (http://www.finlandforthought.net/). He’s been in Finland for about four years. Phil gets a lot of traffic because he’s not afraid to stir up the crap. The only downside to Phil’s blog is that he directly quotes a lot of media sources without offering a lot of his own commentary; but he does bring up a lot of good questions – I’ll give him that.
  • Markus Räty, a Finnish-Canadian in Toronto, and the former editor of Vapaa Sana (www.vapaasana.com) has put up his own blog. He ponders what it means to be a Finn and a Canadian all rolled into one and expresses his patriotism to the "old country" by telling us all the great things there are to learn about Finland. Find Markus at:  http://finnophile.wordpress.com/
  • Another friend of mine is an artist in Toronto and she likes to mix poetry and art into blog entries. I have a piece of her art here at home, a gift from her after her exhibition here in 2004. See "Piika" here: http://greyscaleca.blogspot.com/
  • Who else is blogging about Finland? Find them all here and explore: http://www.globeofblogs.com/?x=location&country=132
  • Many Finns are car lovers and many of them are lovers of old American cars. Some friends of mine are regular attendees of Cruising Night, held every Friday during the summer months in Helsinki. If you like nice cars check it out. Currently the Cruising Night website seems to be down… but it used to be here: www.cruisingnight.com. If you have trouble with accessing the site, plug "cruising night Helsinki" into any search engine and go nuts…
Well as I look through my text file I seem to have tightened up some loose ends by giving you all some fun stuff to look at. Enjoy!
 
Update August 30: One of my friends who is a fan of Cruising Night (and is apparently a regular reader of my blog) sent me a link to some great pictures of cruising events in Finland. See it here at: http://www.kuvia.1g.fi/kuvat/Taphtumat+2006/ The links are kind of wonky (clumsy), but the pictures are great!
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    September 1, 2006 12:15 am

    Thank you for plugging my blog Carmen!!
    Piika
    http://www.greyscaleca.blogspot.com
     

    • sojourner permalink
      October 24, 2012 3:57 pm

      Hi,
      I reached here through google search. I used to follow greyscaleca.blogspot.com. But I kind of went off the blog world for a while. When I came back I could not find the old site anymore. I think it either got taken over or deleted. Would you (Diana/piika/carmen) know anything about his? It’s been bothering me for months 🙂

      • October 25, 2012 9:14 am

        Hi there, I’ll get back to you about this sojourner!

      • October 26, 2012 10:47 pm

        I’ll wait for your word. Thanks.

      • November 2, 2012 12:05 pm

        Hi there, Piika indeed discontinued that blog site and she has not created a new one to replace it unfortunately.

      • November 6, 2012 5:24 pm

        Oh! Thanks a ton for taking the time to get the information for me. I appreciate it very much. Wishing Piika happiness and peace 🙂
        See you around!

Leave a Reply

