Skip to content

The future’s so bright…

May 26, 2005

.. I gotta get dark shades for my bedroom!

Okay, it’s not what you think! Many people don’t realize that Finland is so far north (yeah, it is!), so when spring rolls around it gets light early and dark really late. Right now the sun comes up at 4:15 am and goes down at 22:20 (10:20 pm for those of you on the 12-hour clock). That is 18 hours of daylight.

This year I have found it hard to stay asleep when I should be alseep! The last two weeks I have found myself waking up at 4am and it is already light outside. This is the first time I can remember having trouble sleeping at this time of the year since my first visit to Finland in 1997.

The fall and winter are the extreme opposite, however. Finns will always comment on how dark it is in November and December, so do all the foreigners who live here. Trust me it’s dark and depressing. It makes me crazy! Things always start looking up after Christmas when the amount of light gradually increases. As long as there is snow on the ground then things are fine. If there is no snow it is much worse!

You have to see it to believe it!

You can see more on weather (and sun rise / sun set times) on the web pages of Foreca. http://www.foreca.com/eng/weather/ 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

