Skip to content

The longest lived professionals in Finland

May 12, 2005

I am member of the occupational health and safety committee at the company I work at and as part of that deal I receive a monthly magazine called “Työ Terveys Turvallisuus” (Work Health Safety). There was an article in the most recent edition that reported on which professionals live the longest in Finland. TTT categorized them by gender, so here they are:

Women

  • Daycare directors, daycare teachers
  • Labour office counsellors, organizational secretaries
  • Nurses
  • Doctors
  • Pharmacists
  • Classroom teachers

Men

  • Accountants, Auditors
  • Insurance officials
  • Clergymen and church officials
  • University, polytechnic and classroom teachers
  • Architects
  • ATK-workers (ATK means Automatic Data Processing in English, but I would almost generalize this as an IT-worker, though some of in Finland them work hard and live hard too….)

So this is great news for any Finn involved in these areas of work.

In general it seems that Finland has a bad record for workplace accidents and death. I don’t know, workplace accidents and deaths seem to happen here more often than where I come from. Perhaps it is that incidents are more widely reported here in Finland. I won’t bother speculating on this because I am sure I do not have the facts straight. I will let any visitor check those things out for themselves on some of these websites:

In the meantime I will get my facts straight and report back here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

